Which Whey to go…

21 Apr

IMAG1475-1
So, many of you are asking me what kinds of protein to drink as well as what supplements to take. When I first started to go to the gym and I took nothing at all to supplement my diet, I didn’t notice much difference in anything. That is, I didn’t work myself any harder than normal, my body didn’t hang on to any muscle, and my energy was “eh” to say the least. I know what you are thinking…is everything just a placebo and you only “think” it’s benefiting your body? I personally don’t feel like you can take a pile of pills and powders all at once in a day and expect the body to absorb them all. But what that simply means is, they need to be taken at the right times and maybe spread out through the day.

Here are some supplements that I recommend, and what they can do to benefit your body.

Fish oil: WHY? I’m sure you’ve all heard that fish oil can give you the burps, (reason enough not to take it right?) Wrong! Try Nature Made Fish Oil Gummies! They come in a variety of flavors and honestly taste like candy to me. I’ve also never had an issue with burping up any “fishy tastes”.

Daily Multi vitamin: I feel this is necessary for everyone in order to get ENOUGH of every supplement. You may say, well I drink milk, or I drink orange juice. Unfortunately, there is no way daily food intake is giving the right amount of vitamin intake the body needs on a daily basis. My recommendations are, that if you work out a lot, to take a vitamin either a men’s or woman’s that supports that active lifestyle. There are a lot out there to choose from.

EGCG: Green tea Extract (Because just drinking green tea helps, but won’t have the same effects as taking the supplement) Why?

Glucosamine/Chondroitin: This concoction supports normal joint function. WHY? I have noticed after have been taking a regular dose of this supplement, combined with my workout routine, an increase in flexibility and recovery of joint soreness.

Glutamine:WHY? L-Glutamine does some pretty amazing stuff for our bodies. And since the levels in our bodies are depleted during working out, we must put enough of the supplement back in to recover. But you don’t need to work out a ton in order to take this one. It’s been shown to strengthen the walls of the intestines and even to help heal ulcers! You can get this supplement in many forms, such as yummy powders and drinks. I prefer, (only because they are like candy!!!) Glutamine chewies by Betancourt. A serving size is 4 tablets so stocking up on this one is important if you plan to take it daily.

Quite a list right? Now let’s get into Whey powder and pre workout drinks…

I was recommended Creatine Monohydrate before working out but have found no significant increase in my energy levels. I did a little research and found that monohydrate has a tendency to make one bloat. But Creatine Ethyl-Ester absorbs quicker and yields less digestive issues.
I now use N.O.-Xplode by BSN
and love it. I’ve noticed a huge increase in power, endurance, and focus while working out. But caution!! This must be taken about 30 minutes in advance of working out, otherwise you’ll be very dissapointed. It happened to me the other day when I wasn’t able to begin my workout as planned. I got the shakes and felt as though I was going to puke my brains out…kind of like you are going to Explode! Don’t make that mistake.

Another pre workout supplement that was recommended as I am writing this blog, was G-Fuel by Gamma Labs. I’ll definitely have to try this one too! It’s Paleo friendly with only natural vitamins and minerals, leaving no jitters and no crash (bc no sugar) Thanks Davie! 🙂

As far as Whey Isolate goes…there are many many many varieties to choose from. I will simply tell you what I like. Syntha-6 is crazy good and contains a lot of extra nutrients. You can find it at BSN. It also comes in some amaze-balls flavors!!! My fave? Chocolate chip cookie dough.
Another one I use is About Time. I would have to say that this is one of the cleanest whey supplements around. It’s great during hardcore training or being on a strict diet like Paleo. One scoop is only 103 calories with 0 carbs, 0 sugars, and 0 fat! And for 25 grams of protien combined with a variety of yummy flavors…it is awesome. 🙂

Intra-workout supplement! I almost forgot!! No question…I use XTEND by Scivation It burns fat, builds muscle, and helps the body recover faster.

Ok, I’m outta here. Hopefully I didn’t leave much out. Feedback is appreciated! And hopefully I was able to give everyone some insight on some beneficial vitamins/minerals/supplements that can make for living life to its fullest. Like I said in the beginning, it’s basically what I use now, but I am open to changing things up and recommendations from anyone else who might take something different! Let me know!! 🙂

Remember, you can find me here for recipes and updates throughout the week! Fitness sprinkles

Promote Your Page Too

Leave a comment